

October 26, 2021

Honorable Blaine Higgs Chancery Place PO Box 6000 Fredericton, NB E3B 5H1

Premier Higgs,

I am writing today to express our profound disappointment in the Government of New Brunswick's recently released memo that prohibits government employees from acknowledging that New Brunswick sits on "unceded" and "unsurrendered" Indigenous land.

The College of Psychologists of New Brunswick (CPNB) is committed to reconciliation and justice for Indigenous peoples and encourages our staff and membership to be devoted to strengthening the relationships between psychologists and Indigenous communities.

CPNB endorses the apology to Indigenous People and Pledge to be Anti-Racist issued by ACPRO (the Association of Canadian Psychology Regulators). We ask that all members read the ACPRO apology and "Psychology's Response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's Report" written by the Canadian Psychological Association and the Psychology Foundation of Canada as the bare minimum of what we can do.

CPNB supports our members, including those working in the public sector, in making land acknowledgement statements which include that there are unceded and unsurrendered territories in NB.

CPNB acknowledges that the lands on which New Brunswick is situated are the unceded and unsurrendered traditional territory of the Wəlastəkwiyik/Wolastoqiyik, Mi'kmaq/Mi'kmaw and Peskotomuhkatiyik/Peskotomuhkati.

We strongly urge that your office meet its commitment to the process of Truth and Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples by revoking the current policy directive by the Attorney General and Minister of Justice and Public Safety's Office.

Sincerely,

Professional Affairs Committee College of Psychologists of New Brunswick

Cc: Honorable Hugh J. Flemming

Mandy M Lean

College of Psychologists of New Brunswick Collège des psychologues du Nouveau-Brunswick

Members of Council Membres du Conseil

Mathieu Gautreau L.Psych. President Président

Louise Morin L.Psych. Past-president Présidente sortante

Felipe Ramirez Hinrichsen MPs, L.Psych. President-elect Président désigné

Members at Large Membres extraordinaires

Dre JoAnne Savoie Ph.D., L.Psych.

Dr. Theresa Fitzgerald Ph.D., L. Psych.

Susan Fry-Adair L.Psych.

Dr. Paul King Ph.D., L. Psych.

Andrée Guy Public Member Membre du public

College Staff Personnel du Collège

Mandy McLean Executive Director Directrice générale

Dr. Jacques Richard Registrar Registraire

Renée Turner Assistant Registrar Registraire adjointe

Jeanne Lirette Administrative Assistant Adjointe administrative